Faculty Boards

The Faculty Boards will supervise the initiation and semester-by-semester operations of the various elements of the General Education Program. These Boards will be appointed by the Dean for Undergraduate Studies in consultation with the Collegiate Deans.

The Boards will base their evaluation of courses... on the extent to which they fulfill the learning outcome goals for each category, as well as on overall quality and potential effectiveness.

The General Education Implementation Committee has developed the following definition of and policies for the Faculty Boards.

The Faculty Boards are faculty panels that will supervise the initiation and semester-by-semester operations of the various elements of the General Education program. These Boards will be appointed by the Dean for Undergraduate Studies in consultation with the Collegiate Deans. 

Faculty Board membership will be primarily tenured/tenure-track faculty members. Membership will come from across the campus: each Board will have membership comprised of representatives from the colleges and departments that offer General Education courses in the Board's relevant category and possibly membership from consumer colleges and departments. Each Board will also have as a member either the Dean or an Associate Dean from Undergraduate Studies. This practice will help ensure uniform application of policy and standards across Boards. The size of each Faculty Board should be kept small in order to assure efficiency and agility. Members’ terms on the Boards should be for a minimum of two years, with turnover that meets the needs of the board's work. 

The Faculty Boards include Writing, Mathematics/Analytic Reasoning, Oral Communication, History and Social Sciences, Humanities, Natural Sciences, Scholarship in Practice, Understanding Plural Societies/Cultural Competence, and I-Series Courses. The Dean for Undergraduate Studies will post the membership of all boards and include the membership in the annual report to the General Education Committee of the Senate.

See the Faculty Boards implementation document for a list of each Board, its membership, and number of members.

The Boards will review and measure success of the program; they will also assess specific elements and requirements. The Boards will base their evaluation of new and existing courses for suitability in the new General Education categories on the extent to which they fulfill the learning outcome goals for each category, as well as on overall quality and potential effectiveness. The Boards will periodically review approved General Education courses and/or review learning outcomes assessments of the General Education categories.

Math/ Analytic Reasoning (gened-reasoning@umd.edu)

  • Lasnik, Howard
    ARHU Linguistics
    lasnik@umd.edu

  • Mellet, Antoine
    CMNS Math
    mellet@umd.edu

  • Ramachandran, Niranjan
    CMNS Math
    atma@math.umd.edu

  • Roberts, Douglas
    Chair
    UGST Physics
    roberts@umd.edu

  • Stairs, Allen
    ARHU Philosophy
    stairs@umd.edu

Writing (gened-writing@umd.edu)

  • Davis, Christopher
    ENGR Electrical & Computer Engineering
    davis@umd.edu

  • Enoch, Jessica
    ARHU English
    jenoch1@umd.edu

  • Gournay, Isabelle
    ARCH Architecture
    gournay@umd.edu

  • Roberts, Doug
    Chair
    UGST Physics
    roberts@umd.edu

  • Sullivan, Joseph
    AGNR Plant Science & Landscape Architecture
    jsull@umd.edu

  • Wible, Scott
    ARHU English
    swible@umd.edu

Oral Communication (gened-oralcomm@umd.edu)

  • Anderson, Lindsey
    ARHU Communication
    awolvin@umd.edu

  • Brighton, Stephen
    BSOS Anthropology
    sbrighto@umd.edu

  • Cohen, William
    Chair
    UGST English
    wcohen@umd.edu

  • Hyman, Glori
    AGNR Institute of Applied Agriculture
    gdhyman@umd.edu

  • Kimbrough, Michael
    BMGT Accounting
    mkimbrough@rhsmith.umd.edu

  •  

Humanities (gened-humanities@umd.edu)

  • Arsenjuk, Luka
    ARHU Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
    arsenjuk@umd.edu

  • Burton, Joan
    UGST Individual Studies
    jburton1@umd.edu

  • Coles, Kim
    ARHU English
    kcoles@umd.edu

  • Robin, William
    ARHU Music
    wrobin@umd.edu

  • Roberts, Douglas
    Chair
    UGST Physics
    roberts@umd.edu

  • Soergel, Philip
    ARHU History
    psoergel@umd.edu

History and Social Sciences (gened-historysocialsci@umd.edu)

  • Borrut, Antoine
    History
    aborrut@umd.edu

  • Clark, Lawrence
    UGST Teaching and Learning, Policy and Leadership
    lmclark@umd.edu

  • Feldman, Robert
    SPHL Public & Community Health
    rfeldman@umd.edu

  • Hanhardt, Christina
    ARHU American Studies
    hanhardt@umd.edu

  • Roberts, Doug
    Chair
    UGST Physics
    roberts@umd.edu

  • Rodriguez, Chantel
    BSOS Anthropology
    chanrod@umd.edu

  • Rowland, Leslie
    ARHU History
    lrowland@umd.edu

  • Slater, Wayne
    EDUC Teaching,Learning,Policy, Leadership
    wslater@umd.edu

Natural Sciences (gened-natsci@umd.edu)

  • Carleton, Karen
    CMNS Biology
    kcarleto@umd.edu

  • Roberts, Doug
    Chair
    UGST Physics
    roberts@umd.edu

  • Rogers, Marc
    SPHL Kinesiology
    mrogers1@umd.edu

  • Weil, Ray
    AGNR Environmental Sciences & Tech
    rweil@umd.edu

Scholarship in Practice (gened-scholarship@umd.edu)

  • Balcom, Sarah Anne
    AGNR Animal & Avian Sciences
    sbalcom@umd.edu

  • Clark, Lawrence
    UGST Teaching and Learning, Policy and Leadership
    lmclark@umd.edu

  • Cukier, Michel
    ENGR Mechanical Engineering
    mcukier@umd.edu

  • Doherty, Lillian
    ARHU Classics
    ldoherty@umd.edu

  • Moody, Erin
    BSOS Economics
    emoody@umd.edu

  • Slater, Wayne
    EDUC Teaching, Learning, Policy, Leadership
    wslater@umd.edu
  • Roberts, Doug
    Chair
    UGST Physics
    roberts@umd.edu

  • Stairs, Allen
    ARHU Philosophy
    stairs@umd.edu

Understanding Plural Societies/ Cultural Competency (gened-pluralsocieties@umd.edu)

  • Guerrero, Perla
    American Studies & U.S. Latina/o Studies Program
    guerrero@umd.edu

  • Lindemann, Marilee
    ARHU English
    mlindema@umd.edu

  • Roberts, Doug
    Chair
    UGST Physics
    roberts@umd.edu

  • Rudy, Jason
    ARHU English
    jrrudy@umd.edu

  • Stevens, Cindy
    UGST Dean's Office
    stevensc@umd.edu
  • Cohen, William
    Chair
    UGST English
    wcohen@umd.edu

  • Giovacchini, Saverio
    ARHU History
    saverio@umd.edu

  • Kaufman, Alan Jay
    CMNS Geology
    kaufman@geol.umd.edu

  • Lawson, Wesley
    Electrical and Computer Engineering
    lawson@umd.edu

  • Mallios, Peter
    UGST English
    mallios@umd.edu

  • McCauley, John
    BSOS Government & Politics
    mccauley@umd.edu

  • McEwen, Abigail
    ARHU Art History & Archaeology
    mcewen@umd.edu

  • Micallef, Shirley
    AGNR Plant Sciences & Landscape Architecture
    smicall@umd.edu

  • Nelson, Deborah
    JOUR Journalism
    dnelson4@umd.edu

  • Roberts, Douglas
    UGST Physics
    roberts@umd.edu

  • Suarez, Gerald (Jose)
    BMGT Management & Organization
    jgsuarez@umd.edu
Back to Top